PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - GB Rules - OK?
Thread: GB Rules - OK?
View Single Post
Old 3rd May 2002, 17:57
airrage

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am a BA pilot and I must say that the GB posts here are the least confrontational, but all posts in general are fairly accurate in their own right.

As BA pilots we are understandably frustrated at being continually asked to increase productivity and reduce costs whilst continually losing jos to other outfits(franchises or not). Despite rumours or focussing on our highest and most senior paid route out of thousands(Buenos Airies), BA pilots are now paid less 40% less than N.America and 30+% less than European outfits of equally-sized major International carriers. Especally the third of our pilot workforce on new pay scales. The blame does not lie at the majority of our CC colleagues either(fact: not on 2000) but on poor management decisions(tailfins, separate bases, YEN currency arbitrages, etc.)and major inefficient work practises maintained by unions within stronger than our own BALPA. (For example cargo workers got paid 100% for years even though up to 40% might not even show up for work daily, this was done on a rotational basis. BA are terrified by Cargo and in general their workers rule. Just a couple weeks ago, they refused to allow cargo to be received or sent, losing BA millions each day of this action. I know this because on a walkaround for a flight to Japan, I saw them loading the empty cargo bins into the hold. 20,000kg of cargo missed this flight alone. I never heard the result but I assume BA gave in again. )