PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - EK407 Tailstrike @ ML
View Single Post
Old 29th Mar 2009, 06:46
flyonthewall

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Haven't posted for a while but have just caught up on all the posts after a few days away. I'm no scientist but from what has been brought up in the technical posts......

The 744 had a gross weight calculation system as an option. This was years ago. We never used it, can't remember why. If Boeing built it back in the 80's, then a previous poster was probably right in assuming that the commercial departments of the world discounted the usefulness of such a system in favour of the lucrative "standard weights". Maybe it should be re-introduced. Just how much water are we carrying for those First Class showers.....?

Using a flex temp at a light weight or TOGA thrust at a heavy weight, in the same aeroplane, on the same runway, with the same environmental conditions, will result in you using roughly the same amount of runway. That's the whole premise behind using reduced thrust. You use all the runway and less thrust to get you to the required speed when you are light. If you are heavier, you need more thrust to get you to the required speed before you run out of tarmac. It follows that you should rotate near the same part of the runway regardless of your weight. This is great if you fly on and off that particular runway often. Not so great if you visit 100 destinations a year.