PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Turkish airliner crashes at Schiphol
View Single Post
Old 6th Mar 2009, 13:34
cargun

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shouldn't be a sudden change of 1958 feet in RA1 reading considered as malfunction?

I'm a non pilot, tech savvy curious Turkish guy. I read all the 78 pages so far and many other forums. I'll try to be objective yet forgive me if I'm wrong.

First of all I agree that the crew's initial mission is to fly the airplane by continuously checking altitude & speed. So so far it seems that pilots deserve some (it depends how much) part of the blame here. I also agree with both the cultural issues & the military crew members' seniority rank issues having prevented the safety pilot to intervene. Yet I also consider that pilots can't be all to blame. 100 seconds is a lot and without CVR we do not know what on earth happened there in the cockpit.

You pay zillions of dollars to Boeing for state of the art avionics masterpieces that you can rely. You expect the autopilot mechanism to be close to fail proof. Here I really can not understand the design of the 737ng flight computer system, if RA1 feeding the FCC B, why on earth the pilot commanding FCC B looks at RA2. There is supposedly a "sudden" change of 1958 feet (1950 to -8) in RA1 reading, how on earth Boeing engineers could not have foreseen that such a huge variation should deactivate auto pilot?

This is easy you do not have be engineer to figure this out. Suppose you are very punctual and carry two watches, one on your right hand and one on your left. You usually check the left one, let's say every hour. All of a sudden you realize that the left one has gone behind/forward like "5 hours" since the last time you checked. What would you do? Would you just think that 5 hours went by? You cross check the one on your right. You realize the left one is kaput and you keep checking the right one until you have the left one fixed.