PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Migraines
Thread: Migraines
View Single Post
Old 15th Feb 2009, 21:09
Loose rivets
Psychophysiological entity

Location: Tweet Rob_Benham Famous author. Well, slightly famous.
Received 39 Likes on 19 Posts
A few quickly written notes...much the same stuff that I've posted for years. Remember, I'm a retired pilot not a doctor. Though I do try to source my data from serious publications.

Okay, rule out 'menstrual' migraine...some on this forum would not approve of the term anyway. However, make a log of any relationship with times, sex-drive, or anything really. The sex thing shows up all sorts of interconnections...growing a beard more quickly is just one. Hormonal changes happen, so I wouldn't totally rule out such a link.

The fact that you get sick, pretty well rules out a chronic sinus infection. (given that you're okay in between) That can be very hard to distinguish from 'real' headaches sometimes. Oddly, they can come and go at certain times of the day, mostly relating to head position though.

You've gone down the Tryptophan route to some extent, Tryptophan - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia Keep researching those links to possible triggers.

Learning all you can about the problem and aiming to stop them happening should be your goal, though ameliorating the symptoms is a first step, and a good one, because you then don't fear the onset of another one so much. Such worry can be self-fueling.

Aim to work on the problem, but remember, it'll probably stop by itself,

Long term, deep seated worry, is I think, one of the prime causes of migraine. Think that one through.

Some of these spasms (muscles in the blood-vessel walls) are caused by what the mind interprets as a perceived threat, be they psychological disruptions, or real. Trying to relax before the tension is something that can only be done with practice. A quick try, followed by a headache - and then giving up, achieves nothing.