PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Training, hours building and first job prospects in America
Old 22nd Apr 2002, 16:29
Whirlybird

The Original Whirly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sun 21st April

I have two sessions booked with an instructor; gotta crack this LA airspace and radio and so on. First one I tell Tim I want to do every departure and approach there is, and he's to MAKE me do the radio. He takes me at my word; we go out up to downtown, across Santa Monica's airspace, shoreline transition at 150 ft talking to LAX, through Torrance, across LGB again, then turn east, then...can't remember; I was probably on serious overload by then. I come back and he tells me all I need is to relax!!!! Argggggghhh!!!! Nr Fairy, you have my total respect, and amazement, at being able to cope after just a day or two. I console myself by remembering that you'd flown in the US before, and this is my first time. However, for anyone else thinking of doing this, do remember I was a writer and storyteller long before I became a heli pilot, so I'm a little prone to exaggeration. But only a little; this is tough for someone who learned to fly at a little one runway airfield in the UK and thinks twice before going through Liverpool's zone. Good experience though. Anyway, after lunch Tim says I'm doing it ALL myself this time; we go out to the coast and head south to Dana Point, buzz the pier and wave at the people, and do a pinnacle approach - apparently fun is allowed sometimes. Then through John Wayne airspace which is military and they speak even faster - do they really speak English over here? Sometimes I wonder as I can't understand them. We come back via the freeways; my choice ; Tim said go back the same route if I want, but I decide to make life difficult, and get so tired I can hardly land it in the strong crosswind that's suddenly appeared - didn't know they had wind over here. But I cope with the radio and feel like I can finally do this alone. I'm a slow learner - but I ge