PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - An evaluation of UK Airport Terminal Designs
Old 28th Nov 2008, 22:42
PAXboy
Paxing All Over The World

Received 62 Likes on 50 Posts
I have been using LTN for over 20 years, usually for domestic and near European. My mother lived in the IOM for 26 years and this was my usual route, also, I commuted to EDI for six months in 2001.

In short: It was the best little airport. Following construction of the new terminal it is one of the worst.

Access: I have always used car as I lived close by. The new access road is still being built but the complete and utter clanx up of the main road into the terminal area means that it will never run smoothly. I won't detail it now, either ask me for more, or check into the Airports, Aircraft & Routes forum. Car parks are increasingly expensive - they have learnt that from BAA. The set-down/pick up is just terrible and, again, ask for more detail as I am trying not to make this too long and besides, if I write too much about how bad LTN is, it will do terrible things to my blood pressure.

Terminal: You enter on the Left and cross to the Right for check-in desk then return to the Left to go up to security. The main gangway from the check in to the security barrier is only about 3.5m wide (I sit to be corrected) and hemmed in by shops and cafe with people emerging from them to slow the pax hurrying to the escalators/lifts and steps for security.

Once through security (not too bad) you find that you have crossed again to the Right hand side. The problem being that many of the gates on the Left hand side but - because of security, you now have to walk three sides of a square to get there. The time and distance is enormous.