PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - The Nervous Flyer Thread
View Single Post
Old 6th Nov 2008, 12:45
SNS3Guppy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Airplanes are mechanical subjects, and machines break. This is a given. Airplanes are maintained in rigid accord with established practices, schedules, methods, and techniques. In times past, where methods have been found inadequate, new practices have taken their place. One can hardly look at an incident several decades in the past and use that for the basis of determining what goes on today.

As an aircraft mechanic and inspector, I strive very hard to achieve not only a high level of professionalism, but an exacting degree of adherence to published data, procedures, and practices. I use calibrated tools. I use only approved parts. I don't rush. I seek help where it's needed. I ask others to oversee my work and double check what I do. I have operated this way for many, many years.

As a pilot, I train not to fly the airplane under normal circumstances, but for emergencies. In a few days I'll return to the simulator for recurrent training. I won't be practicing normal approaches and landings. There won't be but a moment at any given time during each four hour session, when the airplane is operating properly. From the time I climb in and begin to start engines, we will have fires, failures, losses, etc. We'll seldom operate for more than a moment on all four engines; at least one, occasionally two will have failed. We'll have depressurizations, instrument failures, electrical losses, control failures, etc. Engines will stall, catch fire when they're started, runaway, overtemp, and flame-out. Equipment will break. We'll have one emergency after another during takeoff and landing. We'll encounter windshear. Hydraulics will fail. We'll have cargo fires. Every moment of that sim session, plus the two hour brief beforehand, and the two hour brief after, will be nothing but emergencies and working together as a crew to handle them.