PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Laptop Advice Needed
View Single Post
Old 26th Sep 2008, 09:51
Led Zep

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Chimbu, we must be opposites. I have a lot of experience with Apple computers, but will never buy an Apple.
Pick an Apple machine and I've chances are I've had to work with it. Off the top of my head in the order I remember them: LCIIs, LC630s, Color Classics, IIvx, Peforma 5200s, Power 7220s, G3 iMacs, Newtons, PowerBook 100 and 1400 series, the Clamshell iBooks (mmmm, fungus!!), the second gen white G3 iBooks and the earlier G4s. Used everything from System 6 to OS X.
If you are unfamiliar with the short comings of Apple's computer products, do a search on "G4 logic board problems" for something you could relate with. I also take it you never used Mac OS 8.5? No Blue Screen of Death, but this (and similar error messages,
shutDownAlert, etc) were enough to do my head in:

I don't recall that kind of error though, I think it is a bogus! (but thankfully I had almost forgotten about those sort of things!!) If you were lucky and the cursor responded you could click restart. If not, you’d have to pull the plug on the bloody thing.