PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Spanair accident at Madrid
View Single Post
Old 8th Sep 2008, 20:13
mercurydancer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
testpanel/mac/pj2

CRM or its variant in the OR is something I have delved somewhat deeply into. I dont want to creep the thread off the Madrid incident but just want to point out a few things. testpanel... I for one am listening and its one of my main reasons for visiting this site as Ive learnt a lot from aviation safety and investigation in my professional capacity. In a very direct way I would like to challenge the comments of some who seem to feel that as some of us who post here are not pilots then we cannot add anything valuable to a discussion. Although I can just about work out which way is forward on an aircraft I am a professional at incident investigation and I feel that some of my views may be valid.

Should as nurse intervene during surgery? The short answer is that if an OR nurse has a responsibility for an action, such as a swab or needle count, if it is incorrect then the nurse is obligated to intervene. This may mean halting the surgery or preventing closure of the wound. (If its a nurse interrupting an operation to give her opinion on surgical technique, its different as the nurse isnt trained in surgery.) I cannot think of any parallels within aircrew where a FA can practically order a flight crew to take a particular action, but if you can enlighten me I would be grateful.