PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Fuel Crossfeed
Thread: Fuel Crossfeed
View Single Post
Old 3rd Sep 2008, 05:56
BelArgUSA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Differences with "fuel configuration"...

I leaned many things about planes in my aviation career. And often, I studied "rules and facts" that I found to be erroneous later with other airplanes. Fuel feed configuration is one of these subjects. Each airplane is "specific", there is NO GENERIC way to operate an airplane's fuel system.
xxx
I started my career with PanAm, first position was F/E on 727... Was my first "big plane"... The ground school instructors were good, we swallowed all they said as gospel from the bible. I remember them saying "you feed fuel from tank to engine for takeoff"... "on a Boeing, you cannot transfer fuel from one tank to another"... "you keep the crossfeed line pressurized"... "all boost pumps ON for takeoff and landing" were the many words highlighted in my manuals.
xxx
Then I had to learn the 707 and 720... was great... just many more tanks, lots of more fuel, and the basic rules studied for the 727 were applicable to the 707/720. Was almost like a difference course more than a new initial... And I honestly believed ALL PLANES were like that...
xxx
For the next 12 years or so, I got to fly the 707 and 727s... from F/E, then F/O, then captain... very little study to do, nothing new, except flying 707 or 727 airplanes coming from other airlines, and learning where the switches were. Different weights, different limitations, different red lines on EGT... "dash this" and "dash that" for engines...
xxx
Then flying on a contract with 707s as captain, the company had good and bad news for us 707s crews... "We lost the 707 contract" (oh oh! - is it a loss of a job, and furlough again) - No... it was not, we were going to be trained on DC-8s...
xxx