PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Supply and Demand
View Single Post
Old 14th Apr 2008, 04:32
Ralph the Bong

Geezzus..! There's more members of the "Flat Earth Society" than I thought.

ACMS, therer are many, many people who are from 'legacy' carriers that dont support datal seniority. I am one of them, although I now work as a contract pilot for a company that both employs DECs and promotes on qualifications, experience and performance; a most frightening concept for some. Particulary those who have been in a sheltered workshop for several years.

Given the extraordinary growth in air travel over the last years, where is the commensurate growth in salaries in the legacy airlines. QF salaries now lag CPI. Your SOs and FOs at these legacy carriers can get promotion by either staying where they are or by changing employers. When Pilots are given the opportunity for other employment options, it increases the scope for promotional opportunities as you no longer have one employer to choose from. This creates an induced demand for your services and as a result the market has to offer higher salaries to either attract or retain your services.

Everyone benefits, including those trying to 'protect' their patch.

Krusty (that's RALPH btw), I have no, I repeat, NO desire to go to REX. I am aware of some guys who have significant SAAB and Dash8 command experience who might take positions at REX in a T&C role...if the price is right! However, why would these people want to take an FO slot and wait months for the upgrade? Why would they? Go from an management salary to line FO if even for 8 months makes the whole exercise a waste of time. As a result, the corporate memory and expertise or REX will continue to fall until the airline is an operational basket case. You sound like you did you apprenticship (over 6 years). How do you feel about guys with 8 months in multi crew operations having command of a flight? I dont know how the DFO can sleep at night.