PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - No towing from stand to take off - yet.
View Single Post
Old 18th Mar 2008, 13:58
Tempestnut

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The climate and Bio fuels

I think this may be an appropriate moment for my first post. I’m not a pilot or aviation engineer but I am an engineer with long experience in diesel engines until recently when I switched to computing. I have had a lifelong interest in aviation so feel “qualified to contribute”

Firstly, the whole Climate Change, Global Warming, Carbon footprint scenario we are being sold is nonsense, and I speak from one who has read a vast amount of the scientific evidence. The whole thing is a political movement to get us to focus on the environment but they have chosen the wrong gas, the wrong bogie man if you like. However it is one that even those with a cursory education recognise and partially understand (ie most politicians and many environmentalists but not all)

CO2 is not a pollutant and nor is it a very important greenhouse gas. And given that, man made contributions to the total CO2 output each year is minuscule compared to natural outputs. In fact CO2 is essential to our well being and to food production on our planet and without which we would all perish. The higher the concentrations the faster plants grow. And by the way despite the fancy graphs from the IPCC and our good friend Al, CO2 concentrations were higher in the early 1800’s and around 1930. New evidence shows that the concentration fluctuates quite a lot with the reasons for this not fully understood, but one thing is certain, it has not been cause by us burning fossil fuels.