PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - YOUR INSTRUCTOR--Friend or Foe?
View Single Post
Old 29th Dec 2007, 08:24
Whirlybird

The Original Whirly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The trouble with asking students about their instructor is that they're not in the best position to know!

I was a student once, doing my PPL(A). I thought the school was great, and the instructors were great. That was partly because I learned something every lesson. Well, you would, wouldn't you; it would be hard to learn nothing at all when you're starting out! It was also because everyone else said how good he was. Then later on I realised that his instructing 'technique' - yelling at every mistake and acting like an army sergeant major - may have worked for some people, but was probably part of the reason for my very slow progress, as I could never relax.

Move on a couple of years, to my PPL(H). A totally different type of instructor - relaxed, friendly, open, took me for lunch, always made sure he had something positive to say. It took me a long time to realise that I wasn't as good as I thought I was, because he was glossing over any mistakes, so that they became habits. And an even longer time to find out the things he hadn't taught me...because you don't know what it is that you don't know. Some things I didn't find out till my FI course, when the instructor sympathetically told me that I was finding things hard because I'd obviously not been very well taught in the beginning.