PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - 25 years of holding at Williamtown
View Single Post
Old 19th Dec 2007, 06:37
Howabout

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How they do it in the US

I'm no expert, but post the following that I dredged up from US AOPA. As I understand it, they're not exactly huge fans of the US military, so I found this interesting. Dick talks about Military Operations Areas, so I suppose this is part of what he wants. Further comment I leave to the professionals, except to highlight what I thought was an interesting statistic, 3/4ths down the article. It says that a US AOPA survey indicates that 73% of members would not fly through a Military Operating Area if they didn't know the status. What it doesn't say is that 27% would do...what? As I said, I leave further comment to those who know more than I do.
AOPA

Safety Hot Spot

How Low Do They Go?

In military airspace, when it's hot, look out

BY TIM WRIGHT (From AOPA Pilot, January 2005.)
Let's face it — 480 knots is moving pretty fast no matter where you are. But at 500 feet agl, pulling 8.5 Gs with a 70-degree bank, "pretty fast" seems something of an understatement. When the world below is slipping past your wing tips so close and so fast, you don't want unnecessary distractions. Just an additional, unintended 10 to 15 degrees of bank mean you slam into the ground in about three seconds. It's not a place for surprises or inattention.
In an attempt to get a better picture of how the military uses low-level airspace, the U.S. Air Force agreed to let AOPA tag along for a flight on VR1754, one of the many high-speed, low-level military training routes (MTRs) scattered across the mid-Atlantic coast. But with the weather over West Virginia holding a steady 300-foot ceiling our VFR plan was scrapped before we could launch from Langley Air Force Base in Hampton, Virginia.