PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - VFR Flights in Las Vegas
View Single Post
Old 16th Jul 2007, 07:28
BelArgUSA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
VFR from LAS to LA area

Hola Stegger -
xxx
I am a stupid airline pilot (now from Argentina) but used to live in the LAX area from 1970 until 1990... And I know the area well, I still return there occasionally to visit friends, and deliver "retiring old 747" planes from desert airfields (or pick them up) to deliver them to new operators. Flying a "VFR mission" there with a small plane is somewhat of a complicated area. Air traffic is rather very heavy in all azimuths. Actually I hardly ever did VFR there, was easier for me to file IFR if needed to go anywhere from A to B. By chance that area has good weather, in October, most will be CAVOK. And sceneries are great, plenty of airfields.
xxx
From North Vegas airport (little GA field about 5 NM NW from KLAS) you can head if you wish, to the Grand Canyon area beyond Lake Mead, located 10 NM SE of KLAS, then head East for the Grand Canyon area. Terrain elevation quite high.
xxx
However to fly to the LA Basin from Vegas, I would head along the freeway to the SW, towards Barstow and Daggett (Daggett VOR), half way from Vegas to Daggett, you will be in the Death Valley area, small airport there. South of Daggett, you can find the Apple Valley airfield if you want to land there (near Victorville, former George AFB, a place where lots of retired airliners are parked there, I go there often). I occasionally go to Mojave airfield as well, also hundred of airliners parked there, West of Edwards AFB. Last time I was there was 2 yrs ago to pick-up some ex-Virgin 747s to deliver to the Russian TransAero airline.
xxx
In the LA area, I would avoid playing VFR to the large airports, LAX, BUR or ONT. However there are nice GA airfields.
xxx