PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Air Mauritius ab-initio program 2006/2007
Old 22nd Jun 2007, 08:41
ChiyaWena

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First of all, no I’m not a professor, not in aviation or anything else. Just someone who’s been around long enough to see the big picture.

Dany I think you’ve kind of missed Djaffer’s point. What he’s saying is that MK isn’t the only option for a young mauritian wanting to fly. Of course all of you have the dream for flying for the national carrier, but if it isn’t the best option for you then why kill yourself figuring out how you are going to become I pilot for them.

A lot of us grow up aspiring to be an airline pilot flying a big jet, but that’s purely because as a youngster that is 99% of the aviation we are associated to. And so to us, that’s what being a pilot means, flying for an airline. But there are plenty of other types of aviation out there, and if you ask any airline pilot today, I guarantee that most of them never started in an airline straight away. what about bush flying in Africa, float planes in Canada, aid relief, survey etc etc etc……….. and from my experience any pilot who joins an airline with that sort of background, makes for a better airline pilot.

Now for those of you about to get their nice shinny license, look at all the options, and make MK just one of them. Don’t expect a job anytime soon, I know people, myself included that back in the day, walked the taxiways, hangar corridors, and airport offices, begging for a job, only to have the door slammed in your face. Even offering to fly for free. But you HAVE to get out there. Speak to people in the industry and plan your attack. No one is going to come to you.

Also remember this, MK don’t like doing favours for anyone, and I promise that if you get out there and try find work, MK management will look at it in a positive way and you’ll come across as someone with determination.