PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Indonesian B737 runway overrun/crash
View Single Post
Old 19th Apr 2007, 01:42
markf

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes I am a journalist who wrote the SMH story, but was responding personally.
All to easy sometimes to blame the messenger and while I would not defend all media coverage of the Yogya incident, but I note that with the release of the preliminary report it is clear the criticisms raised in my story came from the KNKT, not media editorialising.
Of course I don't like inaccurate criticism Theamard, you seem to be the same, but if you are going to launch an "attack on journalistic integrity", pick the right target, I think my stories stand up pretty well.
To quote you:
"Maybe IF they have the report – they SHOULD report accurately what it contains and they SHOULDN’T be editorialising it, or adding a ‘cause/blame’ section on, or stating fictional remarks like “pilot's claims of a massive down draught” as fact?"

This is something I can help clear up, at risk of further criticism. The "massive downdraft" claim of the pilot first came from a story of mine published two days after the crash. It was a quote from the head of the Garuda pilots association made directly after he and other officials had interviewed the Pilot.
Interestingly, I also interviewd the Commission chairman, Tatang, on Tuesday this week, he stated the pilot was continuing to make a similar claim to investigators, but phrased it differently. To remove any "journalistic filter", here are his comments:
Q: the pilot has actually answered the question of why there was overspeed?
A: yes but we have to find out more things to conform the answer.
Q: did he say the reason for overspeed?
A: it is the question which answer we have to find out
Q: basically he was surprised himself of the overspeed?