PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Education: What A Levels and Degree (if any)?!(Apr '09)
Old 6th Dec 2006, 00:39
Vortex Thing

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angel Are you all mad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

NOOOOooooo don't join the RAF or any service as an officer now as you will get paid up to £7k a year less than those with a degree doing exaclty the same job!!!!

Rubbish positively rubbish advice, you get promoted slower and get given worse jobs and before anyone thinks this is a chunter it isn't. I was a graduate entrant to the services but I did have to put up with plenty of whinging at RMAS and my pilots course from the BRNC and RAFC grads as to the fact that they were getting so little cash, bleat bleat bleat etc when they had had the chance to go to uni and didn't or were just past puberty and didn't have any debt to pay off anyway!!!

The services pay grads more to attract grads 95% RMAS intake are grads!! admittedly not as many at RAFC but that is not a reason not to go/stay

STAY AT UNI READ THE REST OF MY RANT PLEASE.

Just been sitting on the fence but I cannot anymore. I think that anyone who is not sure if they should go/continue/ leave etc wrt uni must be barking.

If you have the chance to go to university especially at the correct age. Then unless someone threatens you with death GO for gods sake. You do not know what will happen.

You don't know when the next Sep 11th will be you.
You don not know when the next SARS will be.
You only have one life and no reverse button.

Okay I am not saying that you need a PhD or an MBA to get a job as a pilot but in a country where getting a degree is pretty easy for anyone able to pass the ATPL exams then why would you not want to have one?