PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Cypriot airliner crash - the accident and investigation
Old 23rd Oct 2006, 14:07
cargo boy
I've only made a few posts so I don't feel the need to order a Personal Title and help support PPRuNe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
As an ex-B737 pilot I am still amazed at the lack of debate about the simple fact that as soon as the warning horn went off, no one looked at the gauges next to the pressurisation panel, namely the cabin rate of climb indicator and more importantly, the cabin altitude indicator. Whist this crew may have confused the warning horn for the configuration warning, they and every other B737 pilot n the world will have learnt AND been examined at some stage on the fact that the cabin altitude warning also uses the same horn.

Besides the fact that they didn't spot the misset pressurisation controller several times is crucial. It matters not one iota that the engineer may not have set it back to Auto after the maintenance. I defy one PROFESSIONAL pilot on here to write on here that they have ever received an aircraft back from maintenance without something not back in the right position. It is a known fact that if we have been informed that maintenance have been fixing the aircraft then we do our pre-flight checks extra carefully in order to spot anything that may not have been returned to its pre-flight position.