PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Anti depressants
View Single Post
Old 9th Sep 2006, 06:39
MNBluestater

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
<<<DEPRESSION--Treatments, experience and advice>>

Originally Posted by captain_flynn
Hi all,

I've been abit low recently for various reasons, I saw my doctor today (for a unrelated matter) but told her how low I had been feeling. She wanted to prescribe me some anti-depressants but I declined as I said I think that it will prevent me from flying. I'm a PPL student with 43hrs. I only have to do my cross country and skills test (on the flying part) but I still have a few exams to pass aswell.

If I had accepted anti-depressants would they have prevented me from flying? Did I make the right choice in declining anti-depressants and opting for counselling instead?
<<DEPRESSION >> Treatments, experience and advice
Having had depressive episodes in the past (three major since 1991), please allow me to comment. I am no longer in aviation, 3 employer bankruptcies was enough for me, but perhaps you can learn from what I have learned. (You may want to print this out, as a depressed person tends to forget the positive stuff that is read or heard).

In my experience, talk-therapy has done little for me in the past to alleviate the symptoms, and prayer/meditation isn't helpful either. A person can pray until they are blue in the face and that doesn't help a medical problem, in most cases. I believe that I have inherited the problem genetically and that it became a health concern in my 20's and 30's. Sometimes additional steps need to be taken to get help.

That said--first five steps:

1. Eat a varied diet, making sure you're getting your vegetables and taking a supplement of vitamin b complex (stress) vitamin e, ZINC, and two capsules of GINSENG daily. The zinc and ginseng help restore your TESTOSTERONE production. Testosterone is much lower in the bloodstream of men with depressions.