PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - How much do helicopter pilots earn?
View Single Post
Old 17th Aug 2005, 18:35
Flying Lawyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Droopystop
I appreciate your comments about lawyers (better informed than the anti-lawyer rants which frequently appear on Pprune) but I still think you under-rate a professional pilot's qualifications.

I seen no reason why professional pilots shouldn't have the same 'social standing' and pay as a degree trained professional.
You're right that doctors and lawyers take longer to qualify, but the difference isn't as quite great as the 'years' suggest. The 4 academic years actually amount to 4 x 26 weeks = 2 years.

'Degree trained'?
There was a time when having a degree really meant something; now it depends upon what degree and which 'university'.

"The current training system in aviation allows virtually anyone with a handful of dollars to become a professional pilot."
The same is now true of getting a degree. When I was a student, only 4% of school leavers got into university. Since the government decided on a target of 50%, and decided all colleges should be called 'universities', anyone who really wants a degree would have to be really thick not to be able to get some degree from somewhere or other.
"Money is just about the only means of selection."
The same selection process applies to many of the new universities. A couple of E's at 'A' level and funds to get through three academic years (about six months each) will get you onto some course somewhere.

"How relevant is that to being a good pilot?"