PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Age Concern: Am I too old?
View Single Post
Old 3rd Aug 2006, 14:30
The Hustler

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Following a pattern that was commented on earlier in this thread, I am 34 and currently working in IT, and am fully intending to become a CPL - it's the best feeling I've had being up there with all those other nuts flying in loose formation. Someone told me that old light flingwings were as rough as a badger's wotsits, but my last flight in an old Westland Scout AH1 was so smooth it felt like I was floating

I currently work in IT so I can pay for this - my intention is that one day I will only ever need to touch a computer to log a flight plan and check the METARs.

However, I fully understand that it will cost a fortune, and that I may not be able to give up working on other people's IT systems - but my wife and I have discussed it, and she keeps reminding me what it's all for when I get tired from my 9-5 (or too often it's 5am-2am). We don't have any kids, and our house in Edinburgh is our pension - when we retire it's going to get sold, and we'll rent a flat in whatever part of the workd we want to live in.

I am lucky in that I have a wonderfully supportive wife (who would also love to live in NZ, Colorado or West Canada - she loves painting pictures of the mountains), no kids, a portable skill so that if the flying hits a sticky patch I won't have to flip burgers, and a plan for retirement.

And all so I can (one day) maybe buy myself a 'copter I've wanted since I was 10 - a UH1 or an OH6/MD500.

I've spoken to many people on the phone from various schools and comanies, and at the various airshows, and after the inevitable comments of "Good - you want to become a REAL pilot" they all tell me to have a backup plan. They also invariably said that the media hype about a massive shortage of pilots accross the industry wasn't materialising yet, but looks like it will in 2 years.