PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Military Pilot English
View Single Post
Old 24th Jul 2006, 17:42
planeenglish

Take me downwind

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dear bounce'em all and bufe01,
I am an aviation English teacher. I was contacted by this branch of the military in Italy for my experience as an aviation English teacher. I have been teaching English as a foreign language for 15 years and specialized in Aviation English for civil pilots (A and H), mechanics, engineers and cabin attendants. I have been asked to develop material for security agents for the local handling agent here and now have been called upon by the military. I have developed a course that is teaching pilots the language necessary to cope with everyday life on an air force base according to the chief of languages for the Department of Defense in the USA. I am teaching them aspects of language they could never find in a general English classroom.
My original questions were as follows:
My question for you is this: in your opinions what is important subject matter for an officer on base that is also a pilot? I must teach them aviation English for communications on the radio when standard phraseologies do not suffice but also simple things such as ordering food in a restaurant, sending a package, briefing and debriefing for a mission....
I have materials for both subjects but not enough time to cover both. I must take the best (meaning the most effective) of both programs and leave out the least important due time constraints.