PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - 43 Air School (threads merged)
View Single Post
Old 19th Jul 2006, 23:20
DawnTreader

Originally Posted by pineteam
Hi everybody
My name is Greg, I was born im Mauritius Island, and I am new member on this forum. I am 22 years old and I am a student in a french business school in Paris. after reflexion, I am more and more interested to become a airline pilot .
Welcome to the forum Greg.
I heard about 43 air school and read some positive comments . It seems to be a great school... But really expensive lol.
It is expensive. They are the biggest in the country and in Africa. Their approach to training is quite formal. They try to impose more than a shade of discipline. Think of it as a type of boarding school. Whether you would enjoy it there depends on you. If you learn quickly and don't mind a bit of discipline then it is the place for you.
I would like to ask you some questions :
-How can we integrate this school? By exams? Because my main problem is that my level in math is low...Will it be a problem?
They will ask to see your school results to get an idea of whether you will cope. I wouldn't say the academic level is as high as University, but there is a HUGE amount of information that you have to take in in a SHORT space of time. There are 8 separate commercial exams to write in only 1 week of exams. The school prepares you well for these, and standards are set HIGH in the regular tests so as to ensure you do your best in the finals. The PPL exams are written on computers at the base. If you don't pass these first time you can write again. If you mess up too many times they might ask you to leave. It only gets more difficult...