PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Aircrew Life Insurance???
View Single Post
Old 6th Jan 2006, 10:26
ProfessionalStudent

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Aircrew Life Insurance???

Hi there. I am Missus ProStu. I work in insurance but must give the caveat that I'm not licensed to advise on this professionally!

Right, I shopped around for ours. I found that Norwich Union's Life and Critical Illness policies were reinsured by GE. Basically it works like this. Normal insurance office gives policies, but they lay off their risk to bigger pools of risks run by companies called reassurers. It's the reassurers who take the lions share of the risk and it's them that work out the "statistical risk" and drive the terms/ratings offered? I found out that GE had the philosophy that they didn't feel that rotary aircrew needed rating as there "hadn't been any crashes for years". Not exactly true but I wasn't going to argue with them. Hence we got life and critical cover with just an amendment to the "total permanent disability" part of the cover. If you're aircrew you'll always have that TPD part amended so it looked like a good deal. We did it through Tesco but I think NU have stopped underwriting Tesco's cover. Might be worth getting a broker to speak to NU though to find out if that is still their philosophy if you're a rotary mate.

Aircrew-wise generally though you can indeed claim 90% of any rating you have had applied directly due to your job (only aircrew, divers and bomb disposal though I think, so this doesn't apply to everyone). You would normally stump up the premium up front and once a year (ie in arrears) you apply through your pay office to get 90% of your year's extra premiums back?