PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Letter to United
View Single Post
Old 10th Oct 2005, 09:02
N380UA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I had trained with UAL in the mid 90's in terms of an intern whilst studying at ERAU in DAB. I was truly impressed with the organization and training I had received there. As a foreign student I wouldn’t have been able to actually find employment with United or any other US carrier. I also wanted to go back home. But given the choice UAL would have been my preference. I sure hope they'll get back out of chapter 11 soon.

Although I have not worked in the US, I would assume that management between Europe and the US is very similar as it would be around the world. As such we find bean counters on the carpet floors of our industry. In their realms, aviation is just another industry, comparable to the automotive or IT industry. Its all interchangeable – or so they believe. Very seldom we find folks running organizations like UAL that have actually grown from within. Folks that started as FO or line engineer actually understanding from within how it all works together and after 20 or 30 years making it to CEO.

Another problem, I feel, has been the deregulation of our industry. I know that would be a pretty un-American thing to say but as a result we find ourselves devouring each other. Undercutting prices on routs which are of little significance in the first place only to please the share holder. In order to acquire even more, sometimes way beyond that what is healthy for a company, we employ those bean counters to run the show for us – we surrendered our own profession to people who don’t know what aviation is!