PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Helicopter Dynamics: Gyroscopic Precession
Old 7th Aug 2001, 03:34
heedm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I’ll reiterate. I am not an expert on helicopter theory. My explanation was merely a description of gyroscopic precession. I discussed helicopters just to illustrate where the gyroscopic precession breaks down.

vorticey, I suspect your theory would work on some helicopters and not on others. Many things that affect gamma are dynamic and do not apply to steady state conditions. Delta 3 appears to be one of them, it comes into play only when the tip path plane and swashplate are not parallel. I’m definitely not the one to ask for this.

Nick said, “Some proofs for your consideration that the blade is bouncing up and down, and not precessing

You’re right, the blade is bouncing up and down. At some point prior to max upwards deflection, the blade pitch is at a maximum. This is obvious if you think about it. We apply a force to a blade that causes an acceleration, which in turn causes displacement. Although it is an instantaneous process, we don’t see what we consider to be the full result of the maximum force until a number of degrees later.

The blades are rotating. They are constrained to either pivot about a flapping hinge or to bend over their length when subject to forces parallel to the rotor axis. Because of this you can’t just push on the blades and expect them to move under your finger. They will start moving immediately, but you won’t see max deflection until later on. It won’t always be 90 degrees because of the geometry of the system, notably the flapping hinge, and because of the complexity of rotors.

The blade doesn’t “spin…with a motion in which the axis of rotation sweeps out a cone” (Encarta World English Dictionary) so by definition it does not precess.