PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Lightning Strikes
View Single Post
Old 8th Nov 2001, 17:17
Lu Zuckerman

Iconoclast

Location: The home of Dudley Dooright-Where the lead dog is the only one that gets a change of scenery.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

While working at Agusta as a RMS consultant I brought the following to the attention of the A-129 Program Manager and other members of the engineering department. I informed them that the rotorblades had inadequate protection from a lightning strike (i.e. embedded aluminum mesh). I also indicated that the bonding of the blades to the rotorhead did not comply with normal design standards. They indicated that the blades, which were of carbon composite structure, would conduct the charge after an attachment. I further indicated that the carbon composition was capable of conducting any static charge off to the rotorhead but if the blade(s) suffered a lightning attachment the conductive capabilities of the carbon composite material would be overwhelmed and the carbon structure would then act as an insulator. As an insulator the temperatures internal of the blade would be so intense as to blow the blade apart. I do not know if they changed the blade design to incorporate the aluminum mesh or, do I know if they improved the bonding.

Normal dissipation of static build up on the rotor through the transmission will cause spark erosion on transmission gears and bearings. Assuming that the bonding is adequate on the rotor system to conduct the amperage of a lightning strike and the full charge passes through the transmission the damage could be much more than just spark erosion.

To: captk

“Asking around other pilots and engineers hasn’t produced any satisfactory answers. I have heard that lightning can cause static pitting of bearings if all the components are not bonded properly”.