PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Solo Trip to France
View Single Post
Old 16th Jun 2005, 18:02
Whirlybird

The Original Whirly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Solo Trip to France

I'm just back from a 10-day flying trip to France, about half of it alone, in G-ATKF, the ancient C150 (she's nearly as old as me!) in which I have a share. For those who don't know, I'm a helicopter instructor, but a very average PPL(A) - 270 approx f/w hours over 8 years, and not a lot recently. So...be kind to me when I tell you about all my mistakes, please! Anyway, by popular request, here's a diary type account of my trip...the beginning at least; it may take a while for me to have time and energy to write it all up....

MONDAY 6TH JUNE

I'm at Sleap, and ready to go. This trip has been planned for months and I ought to be looking forward to it - flying slowly around France, where the weather and mood take us, having a holiday, no definite plans. It was meant to be fun, not a challenge. But now P (she doesn't want to be identified) is ill. We can't go at any other time, and I have the time off and the aircraft booked, and a cat sitter. And the weather forecast is good, even. There's no reason not to go alone, except...I'm scared. I don't do a lot of f/w flying, and I've only flown once in France. This feels like a major challenge, and I don't want a challenge; I want a holiday. I've asked everyone I can think of to come with me - pilots, PPRuNers, old friends. I've even offered to pay for the flying, asking them just to cover their own expenses. But no-one can make it at such short notice. So I'm on my own.