PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Snooker player to sue Ryanair??
View Single Post
Old 6th May 2004, 04:12
Billings

Thumbs up Musicians+Warsaw convention

Hi!

A couple of points to make.

Musicians have been moving their very nice Fenders & Gibsons all over the world in good strong boxes since aeroplanes were invented.
As a musician, I can say yes, we have. But the amount of times, I've retrieved an instrument at reclaim and found either it, or the case(re-enforced flight case) smashed beggars belief. A very close friend of mine has to date, had 2 guitars(up to $2000 value!) and 4 cases smashed on him by different airlines. Unfortunatly, damage still occurs even if there is proper casing around the item, which makes me wonder, how the hell are they causing the damage to these cases? There's a running joke among a lot of musicians over here, that when a baggage handler sees a flight case, he sees it as a challenge!!

Secondly, with passengers rights and the Warsaw convention. Please if I have anything wrong here, let me know. But, after having a good read of it and a couple of arguments with some airline companies, this is my understanding.

And they must sign a "LIMITED RELEASE TAG" Thus taking LIABILTY away from the airline for any damage caused..........................................
Under the Warsaw convention, this is null and void.

Article 23
Any provision tending to relieve the carrier of liability or to fix a lower limit than that which is laid down in this Convention shall be null and void, but the nullity of any such provision does not involve the nullity of the whole contract, which shall remain subject to the provisions of this Convention. #110

I think the way some carriers get around this is by transferring the liability to the ground handler. With FR, I think it changes beetween different airports. On some, they have they're own handlers(or did have a couple of years ago) and on others they sub-contract to a ground handler.