PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Panic Attacks ATPL
View Single Post
Old 28th Feb 2004, 03:44
Spartacan

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
MikeLewis, I wouldn't worry at all about your medical problem at all. I have known pilots lose their medicals with far worse than panic attacks through personal stress. They usually make a full recovery and return to flying.

What you need to worry about is the 'profession' you are letting your self into.

I have been a pilot man and boy. Model kits, Balsa rubber powered things, gliders, PPL, RAF and several airlines. Long haul, short haul, freight, charter, schedules, three Boeings, Jet Command, fifty types and about 7000 hours.

I love aeroplanes and always will do. I particularly love my present Boeing Jet. My fellow pilots are a great bunch.

I am leaving the industry to become a teacher.

Why?

Post 9/11 the airline industry is on a mission to cut costs. Not just as a temporary measure but as a permanent way of life.

How does this affect me?

No roster stability. In fact, most of the time no roster. Next week was three days off. Today the airline took those away and a whole raft of family plans have now been scrapped. My Ops Directors idea of leadership is to discreetly tell the pilots not to have aircraft defects fixed away from base. Apparently he wants us to fly defective aircraft (with a full load of passengers) back to base as a matter of financial expediency.

I have fifteen years to retire. In order to stay employed I will probably have to move my family as the airlines change their plans. Probably I would work for half a dozen airlines in the next fifteen years just to keep the work coming in.