PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Please dont get cross with me I didnt tell u to park there
Old 16th Feb 2004, 03:23
Goldfish Jack

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please dont get cross with me, I didn't tell u to park there!

As a goldfish bowl operator, I have noticed recent attempts by ATNS to meet the operators to discuss how we can improve our service to the airlines/operators and handle more traffic. We all know about the new radar systems we are getting and how they will assist us to meet the increase in demand and it is good to see the airlines are also trying to come to the party, amongst other things, by reducing their time on the runway (and that alone will certainly speed things up '' '' ) now all we need is the third party to ACTUALLY come to the party.

Yesterday I worked and poor old SAA333 (A340-600) from FAJS arrived at 1218 and was told that his gate was not available, due to some B737 being there. He was told by Apron the delay would only be about 3-4 minutes. However the B737 in his gate, had an EOBT of 1230, which makes about 12 minutes in my estimates ''. I counted several gates available, so I do not know how they allocate gates. If they only have certain bays avail for the A340-600, why do they put a B737 in them knowing they will soon have a problem?? Why not put the B737 somewhere else?? Needless to say the poor A346 had to sit on B taxiway for 12 minutes waiting for his gate. (We even discussed him shutting down his engines and organising a tug to tow him in.)