PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - 737 Max: Loose Rudder-Control Fastener Issue.
Old 10th Jan 2024, 11:59
Count of Monte Bisto

Received 380 Likes on 123 Posts
The danger of a discussion like this is that it quickly degenerates into tribal loyalties - in this case Airbus v Boeing. Full disclosure - I am an Airbus pilot and have been for the last 22 years. I had the opportunity to fly the 737 at the time and chose Airbus - just personal preference. Trying to stand back from this and take the big picture is hard as we do not have all the facts. What I do know as a Brit is that when the de Havilland Comet had 2 fatal crashes in the 1950's, the UK commercial jet market was destroyed just about overnight and Boeing won the world with the 707. Clearly vested interests came into play, but the undeniable fact was that square windows rather than round ones caused metal fatigue failures resulting in the loss of many lives. It got fixed, but no one wanted the revised product. The rest, as they say, is history.