PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Professional advice
View Single Post
Old 17th Dec 2023, 04:01
Agile

Received 33 Likes on 21 Posts
Ok let me answer first, I spent 11 years in Japan, I founded there an engineering company, but I am a also pilot. I have long scouted for self-made helicopter operation opportunities there. I understand the motivation of your project but I must say it has gigantic holes through out.

1/ you are a foreigner in Japan, you will always be, that gives you a tremendous disadvantage with the Japanese administration, (you will need a lot of that to set up a private operator status). If in addition you don’t have a native language skill, your odds are very low that you can be more than a rich investor and not a day-to-day participant. In other words you will hardly have any chance to lift the business up with sweat equity as you could in another country.

2/ you don’t have a helicopter pilot license, and even if you had one it could not be converted to the Japanese license. (Very few japanese pilot come from the private training sector, all of them are government trained)

3/ Yes Hokkaido is a great ski resort area, it is mostly frequented by Australian and they do have purchasing power, I don’t think any Heli ski services exist there. but note that the weather can be inclement to flying for long period of times there. That world renowned power snow condition of Hokkaido is there for a reason, because it snows all the time. And then in the summer what are going to operate your aircraft on.

4/ Success in starting a successful venture is to make money quick, from the first day you start. You better have a very solid customer connection ready to pounce (VIP travel agent…). In any case USD 4.5M seems like a very small amount for setting up such an operation. I would not consider anything below USD 15M a viable amount for a project like that.