PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - QF144 Auckland to Sydney engine out
View Single Post
Old 18th Jan 2023, 23:37
JohnMcGhie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
We could do better...

Originally Posted by RodH
Fear not fellow aviation enthusiasts!
Our Aviation Expert, "GT", will soon tell us exactly what happened and why.
I can hardly wait to read his words of wisdom.
Things have improved a bit (at least, at the Sydney Morning Herald: https://www.smh.com.au/national/we-n...18-p5cdlh.html

For those who weren't there, David Evans was a checkie amongst the five pilots on the flight deck when QF2 blew an engine apart over Singapore.

Look: I get it; it's amusing to make fun of journalists who display breathtaking ignorance about aviation matters. But it doesn't help the cause much (either theirs or ours...).

Disclaimer: I have a foot in both camps: I was briefly a glider pilot, and I was a journalist for ten years. I was even an aviation reporter (briefly).