PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Retirement
Thread: Retirement
View Single Post
Old 10th Dec 2021, 03:07
GDAJB

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Well…….Master Jumbo. Now that the moderators have moved your post to a more appropriate forum and admonished you with red ink, let me offer what I hope will be a qualified reply. Although I doubt we worked for the same company, I have also been forced to retire (although I have been threatening it for years) 2 years shy of my “life clock” turning Black and being sent for renewal on “Carrousel!” Truth be told the thought of a life of 24/7 with my wife does lend being chased by “Sandmen” a certain appeal……but I digress.

Let me correct you on a “point of order” when pilots of my generation came into flying 40 odd years ago, we were usually required to hang up our uniforms at age 55. The prospect of continuing on to 60 came much later, and indeed 65 later still. Nevertheless, it did enable us to enthral our colleagues for an additional decade in some cases, even when they were so tired their obvious enthusiasm had to fight through their yawns and heavy eyelids.

Now in that 40 years I managed to to become father to 7 children (just like captain Von trapp from the sound of music) although in all honesty mine didn’t seem to show me as much respect as his did, and they weren’t very accomplished singers either. That was a shame because they were bloody expensive to nurture! One of them even became an airline pilot, so I do feel as if I have played my part in giving back to the next generation of sky Gods! Indeed, once they all become tax payers I feel my costs to society will be fully covered and possibly a few others as well?