PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Engine failure video
View Single Post
Old 14th Nov 2021, 12:13
Pilot DAR

Received 60 Likes on 43 Posts
instructor knows they can make the field, to instill confidence in the student the instructor allows student to make the force landing, whilst keeping a watching brief as things progress.
An excellent point. I've been happy to do this for a student, and certainly the recipient during my life long training. Another aspect is that it's also good "crew resource management" (such as it is with a student as the other crew member). The more experienced pilot can actually do a few other important things, while monitoring, rather than assuming all the workload.

I am a Grade 1 ME IFR instructor (grade 1 is th highest level of instructor rating in Australia). I train other instructors.Trust what I say. I am an expert in the field.
About 45 years ago, I though I was an expert in a tiny, unimportant field of interest. I told someone that. I was wrong, and they promptly told me. I have never used that word to refer to my skills since - because I'm not, I'm still learning, even from people here.