PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Newbie & Flying Training Advice (Merged)
View Single Post
Old 6th Jul 2020, 13:00
aviation_enthus

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Originally Posted by NilanaD
NEWBIE TO FLIGHT TRAINING, NEED HELP
Hello everyone, i am a current year 12 student hoping to start my flight training next year 2021, i have done a fair amount of research but i still have a lot of questions. I am located in NSW but don't mind going anywhere to train.

Currently i have a few options:
1) Qantas group pilot academy
2) UNSW
3) Griffith university
4) Flight training Adelaide

WHICH OPTION WOULD BE THE BEST FOR ME? My ultimate goal is to become a large airline pilot such as Qantas or Jetstar, i however am well aware this process will take a long time.

QUESTIONS:
1) Successful selection into the Qantas program is difficulty, any tips on getting selected? (high school results, flying hours, millitary experience)
2) Universities are seen as a bad option as they take too long, should i listen to this advice or pursuit university studies at Griffith or UNSW over a private flight school?
3) IS THERE REALLY A PILOT SHORTAGE?
4) Upon graduating at Griffith, do you obtain: PPL, CPL, ME CIR, ATPL?
5) Universities have the Qantas Future Pilot program, approximately how many student get selected to become Qantas pilots?

It would be really appreciated if these questions could be answered.
I’ll have a crack at the limited answers I can supply! Haha!

1) No idea about the QF academy but as far as school goes;
- finish Year 12
- passes in English, Maths B, Physics, Chemistry
That will set you up well no matter where you go in life. In the past these have been minimum requirements for some airlines and the RAAF