PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - PIA A320 Crash Karachi
View Single Post
Old 7th Jun 2020, 21:28
Hot 'n' High

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by AGBagb
Interesting. I hadn't really thought of the "what if they had just plunked it hard down first time round" question. One to think about; though far beyond my paygrade, such as it is. And, as far beyond my paygrade but in a different direction, a couple of long-time forum members, engineering types, early in the thread drew attention to the lower tubing layout in these particular engines rendering them especially "sensitive" to this horribly hard scrape. ....
No probs AGBagb, and really sorry if I came across a bit "iffy" - but worth thinking about what designers expect, anticipate what their kit may face and what is, seemingly in this case, one hell of an outlier. And yes, my background is both as an Aerospace Engineer and Commercial Pilot (typical case of "jack of 2 trades - rubbish at both???!!!") hence my take on what is expected/mitigated against in Engineering terms. There will probably be good aero/design reasons to keep some stuff low in the engines - even if just to ensure a good airflow between the top of the engines and the underneath of the wings - don't know as never worked in that field - but I could see that having an effect on say, cruise performance = cost per seat mile! Also, if they'd initiated the go-around before the ground contact, they may not even have realised the ground contact. Timing and the subsequent human filtering and/or delay in processing the sensory input then making a subsequent decision all goes into the mix - that's if they had realised - but sounds like the Capt was past making rational decisions - again, the CVR transcript could help there, as several have pointed out, in how we gain an understanding of the thought processes leading up to Event 1 and the go-around.