PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Dennis Kenyon
Thread: Dennis Kenyon
View Single Post
Old 30th Mar 2020, 20:13
Rotorbee

Received 22 Likes on 13 Posts
Well, since we opened that can of worms.
I am a developer in my second life. Years ago, when Apple changed to Intel, I switched too, because frankly I hate to tinker with operating systems, but sometimes I have to. My list of preferences are: A Mac for developing and other work and if I need a Windows machine, Parallels or VMWare for a Windows instance works like a charm. Especially since I don't have to use a preload with all the crapware. The hours I lost getting rid of Norton Antivirus on IBM or Lenovo machines. A Windows directly from Microsoft is way better than any preload. The pro version that is. Not the home version.
Macs just work and when I need to tinker with it; if you know your shell, you can do almost anything with them. It is a Unix after all with most of the bells and whistles. But Apple could make a more modern desktop, but otherwise I like it.
For servers, Linux is the way to go. I deliberately avoid any software that requires Windows Servers. It just isn't worth the hassle. Desktop Linux is just not my piece of cake.
Windows 10 is the first version, I like in a long time (started with Windows 2 a rather used DOS). It is the most stable in a long time, but still spaghetti code unfortunately. My daughter uses a Surface Pro for compatibility reasons in school and that is a great piece of kit. But I had to tinker with it more than with my Mac in many years. Now that she knows the shell to restart or kill services, I am less in demand.