PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - I want to be a pilot: please change my mind!
Old 6th Jan 2020, 21:03
KRviator

Received 123 Likes on 62 Posts
I gave up flying for a career more than a decade ago for a career driving trains. I've been doing that for 14 years come this Thursday and can't imagine doing anything else. I still get paid to look out a window (Contrary to what my Yr 11 English Teacher said would never happen...) I do work with some deadset morons, but also some top-notch crew whose numbers fortunately outweigh said morons, I've been able to pay off my house, buy a new 4wd as well as build an RV-9 that I fly for fun with my young bloke - and I'm still under 40!

I'm fortunate to have been able to transition to a part-time roster so I only effectively work 107 days a year yet still earn over $100K but get so much more time with the family than I would have ever got with a flying job - but with the RV I can still fly where I want, when I want. If that is 500' down Victor 1 past Sydney at 170 knots, or taking Mini-Me to Temora to see the Spitfire fly, I can. I don't have to deal with dispatchers, passengers or "security". Flying is supposed to be fun and if you make a career out of a hobby, that can wear off all too quickly - I've seen it dozens of times in Rail. "I wanna drive trains..." says the train buff, yet after a year of shiftwork suddenly the appeal has worn off and they are gone. Don't make that mistake if you are in a good career you enjoy already. Fly for fun and enjoy it.