View Single Post
Old 23rd Oct 2019, 08:15
  #44 (permalink)  
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Quite near 'An aerodrome somewhere in England'
Posts: 25,701
'600 kg' aircraft to which the consultation refers should simply be considered to be 'Non-EASA LSA' aeroplanes. To fly EASA CS-LSA aeroplanes, the pilot must hold a Part-FCL pilot licence or, until Apr 2020, a national pilot licence with 'LAPL-level' restrictions for EASA aircraft. Hence a national 'Microlight-only' pilot licence such as an NPPL(M) may not be used to fly CS-LSA aeroplanes.

It should be noted that there is no definition of 'Microlights' in the Basic Regulation, the term is generally used for aircraft falling under the definition of Annex 1(e) of the Basic Regulation.

Aircraft certificated as CS-LSA may already be used for Part-FCL SEP (or TMG) training purposes, whereas although EASA intends to recognise flight time in certain Annex 1 aircraft for SEP/TMG revalidation purposes, this does not include the use of Annex 1(e) aircraft for Part-FCL SEP (or TMG) training purposes, such as revalidation refresher training.

Nationally regulated non-EASA LSA aircraft could open the door to the extension of 'microlight-only' pilot licences to include both CS-LSA and non-EASA LSA aircraft privileges under yet-to-be-determined Modular LAPL rules - the scope and privileges of which are already devolved to national competent authorities.

Because a Modular LAPL can subsequently be upgraded to a LAPL or PPL, this could solve the present NPPL(SSEA)-to-LAPL(A) problem.
BEagle is online now