PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - CX SFO (main thread)
View Single Post
Old 19th Oct 2019, 01:02
Turbosina

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Air Profit
Yes, our once illustrious airline screwed up big time. However, if you spent 5 minutes in our dispatch area and had a look at the faces wearing our uniform, you would have thought you were in a fairly well funded flight school. If I sold razor blades for a living, I wouldn't bother trying to gin up business there. Expect more such headlines in the years to come. Sad decline of a once great company. Greed and malfeasance have brought us to the point of no return. The end result will be tragic.
That is unfortunate indeed. I remember in the 1980s, my dad was posted to HK for a number of years, and every summer holiday (I was in grade school) I would fly out to see him on CX. The thrill of flying into Kai Tak (the ol' checkerboard approach) was something I'll never forget. When I'd fly with my dad, we'd travel in Business or First on CX, and it was a magical experience.

Then just last year I flew CX SFO-HKG-Ho Chi Minh City-HKG-SFO in Business class. What a difference from my memories. I never thought I'd see the day that United's international business-class product would be superior to basically anyone's, but CX Business was essentially the same experience as Premium Economy.

Of course, none of that has anything to do with airmanship. I will make one comment on the discussion about the UAL crew's non-response to the RA. At our airline, if we have the conflicting aircraft in sight and are maintaining visual contact, we can ignore the RA and continue to land. Once about every 20 approaches into SFO, when they're running the parallel visuals, our TCAS will lose its mind. So I'm not entirely surprised that the UA crew did not automatically respond to the RA. Of course, I wasn't there, and have precisely zero detailed knowledge of the event.