Thread: Formula 1
View Single Post
Old 2nd Apr 2019, 11:07
  #7188 (permalink)  
PDR1
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Farnham, Surrey
Posts: 1,193
Originally Posted by atakacs View Post
Is there any reference about where the SC line is in Bahre´n? Surprised that Verstapen did not try a move (I believe Schumacher did one on Alonso at some point in a similar situation).
That's because the rules have prohibited it since the beginning of 2010. Rule* 40.13 - states:

"If the race ends whilst the safety car is deployed it will enter the pitlane at the end of the last lap and the cars will take the chequered flag as normal without overtaking.".*

The Schumacher incident was at Monaco in 2010, shortly after the rule had been introduced, but Ross Brawn had interpretted the events differently. He says they were explicitly told the safety car was coming in BEFORE the end of the race, even though it was the final lap, and he had print-outs of the race-director messages which showed a green light before the first car had crossed the finish line. The stewerds saw it differently, and Michael was given a 20 second penalty, dropping him from 2nd (1st after the overtake) to 12th. Some felt this was harsh, as it was a difference in interpretation rather than explicit cheating - they suggested that a more appropriate action would simply to have the result declared for the positions under the safety car (ie put Michael back to 2nd), but it has been pointed outthere isn't actually a regulation which gives the stewerds the authority to do this.

They've clarrified the implementation now - the race director will explicitly state that the race will finish under safety car conditions to remove all doubt.

PDR
PDR1 is offline