PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - After the Rejected Takeoff
View Single Post
Old 25th Oct 2001, 11:02
Bhing

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi NM,

This is a very complex question indeed. As a 340 operator myself with more than 6000 hours on A340/A320 we are talking about a similar piece of kit. In fact the brakes are exactly the same. Yes the brakes are fantastic but they are very susceptible to damage if you do a max stop from a reasonably high speed. The other point to remember is that the true brake temperature takes about 5 minutes to be reflected on the indication due to sensor location.

Regarding you concern about brake fire spreading beyond the wheels. Next time you are under the aircraft, have a good look at the space around the wheels and you will aggree that it is unlikely that fire will spread beyond the wheels. What is of more concern is the possibility that debris from failed wheels or brakes may have punctured the wing fuel tanks above (as in many previous accidents).