PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Your first "I learned something from that" story?
Old 10th Mar 2019, 12:46
meleagertoo

Received 136 Likes on 65 Posts
Instructors!

Back in 1991 or so I was converting from helos to a f/w licence affter a brief spell in the military and time on the N Sea and elsewhere - where Instructors were Gods and everything was done properly and punctiliously.

Out of Lydd in a Seneca to do the twin rating at Le Touquet over two days with a nightstop there. This avoided VAT which was quite significant.
We started the circuits on Saturday afternoon and the cloudbase got lower and lower. And lower. Eventually we were scudrunning at 300ft downwind barely in sight of the field and I was getting very uncomfortable indeed though the FI seemed quite happy. I certainly wasn't but as a Professional pilot I knew better (!) than to question an instructor. By the time we'd flown past the church steeple top I gathered the courage to announce that we were binning it on this one as it wasn't safe to continue. The instructor ridiculed me and asked how the hell I thought we were going to fly the remaining six hours off the following day if we stopped now. Feeling very hot behind the ears and cross that as a stude I'd been forced into such a position I dug my heels in and back to the hotel we went. The FI had a sulky evening.