PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Weiner's Laws
Thread: Weiner's Laws
View Single Post
Old 22nd Jan 2019, 12:35
Ian W

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by gusting_45
Relying entirely on automation whether in the Flightdeck or in the controllers facility only moves the source of the failure.

All responsibility would now be on the shoulders of the software designers, developers and testers. It is an uncontradictible truth that all software is riddled with errors whether of logic or syntax. Even systems that appear to be working will one day encounter a deadly embrace of errors.

I know, I used to work in IT. No matter how talented the developers etc, they are no less prone to error than the users.

Automation is brilliant, it is a huge reliever of workload in the flightdeck and I dare say in the radar room. That is how we should view it and use it.

I for one, will always feel happier to know that responsibility for the safe conduct of my flight and it’s control is under positive management of a human and that the responsibility has not been offloaded on to someone who has no skin in the operation.
I think you misunderstand what the change to 'trajectory based' control really is.