PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Iraq and Syria Operational Service Medal
View Single Post
Old 20th Jul 2018, 09:10
KelvinD

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
An interesting discussion here.
Here's an example of what it was like "back in the day".
I got the GSM with South Arabia clasp for service in Aden. The criteria at the time were 30 days for ORs and 24 hours for officers. There were lots of rumours regarding Ruperts swanning in and out of theatre on short visits just to get the medal.
Conditions became progressively more arduous as time went on. I noted in earlier posts people talking about working 12 hour shifts. Luxury! (to quote Monty Python). I was a radio technician, Royal Signals. A nice straightforward job, starting work at 07:00 and finishing at 14:00. The problem was, I was at the bottom of the totem pole so had to fit in stints as duty tech, camp guard duties and, uniquely to my regiment, officers mess guard. (Our officers were the only ones on camp who chose to live in a mess outside the main camp and we had to make sure they could "sleep safely in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf" (thanks George Orwell). So I would have to work a normal shift, get changed, get armed and do these extra duties immediately after finishing work. The camp guard duties would go on until 08:00 as we had to switch from regular guarding to screening the hordes of local civilian employees coming to work on the camp. A horrible job, especially when the magic 2.5% number came up and Abdul was selected for a full search, including up the bum! Once the guard duties had been completed, it was back to the billet, shower & change, get breakfast and off to work for a normal shift. Knackering! Due to the limited number of people eligible for these duties, I suppose the work days averaged out to about 16 hours per day. There was one rough period when the local nastiness was at its height. I volunteered for an IS platoon, along with a num