PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Call your union/congressman about security checks
Old 25th Jan 2002, 04:04
Tripower455

Received 39 Likes on 24 Posts
[quote]I have a security responsibilty within a UK airline and also I am a line pilot.<hr></blockquote>

Every pilot has a security responsibilities, but doesn't have the tools to carry them out.

. . [quote] Luckily I know that the Neanderthal mind set of those above is not typical of the majority of US pilots. <hr></blockquote>

Since I work with nothing but US pilots, I can say without hesitation, that the opinions echoed in the above posts are exactly how most of them feel. Your opinions are in the minority.

[quote]However the isolationist and arrogant "it will never happen to us" attitude of ALL in the US aviation industry allowed the US airport security to lapse to the state that it was in pre Sep 11. <hr></blockquote>

I guess that we are still "arrogant" and think that it can't happen again, because NOTHING has changed to prevent it!

[quote]Sadly the situation has barely improved despite lots of meaningless armed presence - nor will it whilst the people like those above refuse to comply "to get respect". <hr></blockquote>

You are correct in saying that the situation has barely improved. The only hope that we have right now is the intervention of the passengers.

[quote]It is obvious they also have been some very selective recall of things in the past<hr></blockquote>

Yes it is.

-------------------------------------------. .How many of them were employees of the carriers involved or any carrier for that matter? . .----------------------------------------

[quote]They didn't have to be! They did it quite well as it was but some had clocked up enough trips within the US to become Frequent Fliers<hr></blockquote>

EXACTLY!

[quote]Incidentally, how many Lufthansa uniforms were found discarded by the terrorists in Boston afterwards? They had certainly intended to imitate a crew.<hr></blockquote>