Go Back  PPRuNe Forums > Other Aircrew Forums > Flight Testing
Reload this Page >

Remote controlled aircraft

Wikiposts
Search
Flight Testing A forum for test pilots, flight test engineers, observers, telemetry and instrumentation engineers and anybody else involved in the demanding and complex business of testing aeroplanes, helicopters and equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 7th Nov 2007, 10:44

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

HI guys,
I'm a commercial pilot and i'm in a course of collision in an Italian Forum about the 9/11 events discussion. Those people say that the aircraft could have been diverted and controlled to the target by somebody on the ground becouse the terrorist would not had the skill to modify the route on the FMC and fly direct to the target.
i think that after 260 hours , MEP CPL IR , and 30 hours on the 737 sim, is not impossible to direct a 757 to the WTC even flying erratically.
But most important i never heard about the possibility to control an aircraft from the ground. I'm talking about a commercial Jet in a normal pax operation.

Can some thech person please tell me if this aircraft remote control from the ground is somethink that actually exist ?

Thank you ,

Franco
Old 7th Nov 2007, 12:03

Received 30 Likes on 13 Posts
Remote controlled aircraft (designed as such) exist. There is a well-known video of one used for crash testing at NASA Dryden (Edwards AFB).

The suggestion that the 9/11 aircraft could have been remotely controlled is held only by wild and ignorant conspiracy theorists, and you are on the wrong forum for such a discussion.

Try JetBlast.
Old 7th Nov 2007, 15:19

(Speaking hypothetically in the case of WTC and the Pentagon - )

There are a couple of "remote control" methodologies - the most primitive being the one used by RC modelers 50+ years ago. The "pilot" had to have eye contact with the RC plane and its environment, and operated the controls surface(s) directly through his transmitter.